Give A Rouse

“…and the granite of New Hampshire keeps the record of their fame.”
Share This

The College has honored Douglas Donahue Jr. ’73, Danielle Dyer ’81, Tu’89, and Tracey Salmon-Smith ’87 with 2014-15 Dartmouth Alumni Awards, and Janna Annest ’00, Deborah Atuk, Tu’04, and Greg Chittim ’01, Th’02, Th’03, with Dartmouth Young Alumni Distinguished Service Awards for service to the College and their communities. Go to alumni.dartmouth.edu/awards for more details on their citations.

R. Barton Palmer ’68, the Calhoun Lemon Professor of Literature at Clemson University, has been named editor of South Atlantic Review, the official journal of the South Atlantic Modern Language Association. Palmer specializes in late medieval English-French literary relations. 

Dixon Turner ’70, M.D., who has worked as a pediatrician for the past 40 years, including 35 in the Seacoast region of New Hampshire, has earned a Lifetime Achievement Award from the American Academy of Pediatrics. Now a pediatrician with Pediatric Associates of Hampton & Portsmouth, Turner was the chief medical officer at Crotched Mountain Rehabilitation Center.

Faith Rivers James ’87 has been named Elon University School of Law’s first associate dean for experiential learning and leadership, responsible for providing guidance and coordination for attorney mentorships, trial practices and law practice residencies and leadership programs. The director of leadership programs at Elon Law since 2012, she previously served as senior policy advisor to the majority leader of the U.S. Congress.

Chris Nybo ’99 has been sworn in as an Illinois state senator, appointed to serve the rest of departing Kirk Dillard’s term. A former state representative and Elmhurst alderman, the Republican Nybo will campaign to hold the seat in the November election.

Carl Burnett ’03 of Boise, Idaho, has been inducted into the 2014 Maine Ski Hall of Fame. Burnett, who took up disabled skiing after he was paralyzed at age 5, was named to the U.S. disabled team in 1998; competed in NorAm, World Cup and Paralympic events as a mono-skier; and competed in alpine skiing in three Paralympic Winter Games (2002, 2006 and 2010).

Danny Scull ’06 and Ben Waters ’06, part of five-piece band Midnight Spin, have earned 2014 Best Rock Album honors from the Independent Music Awards for their debut album, Don’t Let Me Sleep. Listen to the Brooklyn-based band (with Scull on drums, Waters on bass) at midnightspin.com/music.


Share This
Magazine Cover Image

View This Issue in Our Archives

The digital version of this issue is available for viewing in our online archives. Click the button below and the issue will open in a new tab.

Dartmouth Alumni Magazines Fanned Out


Maximize the benefits of your alumni magazine website simply by entering a username, password and your class year. We’ll have you squared away in no time.

Register Now