BIG PICTURE

Sitting Presidents

Every past president of the College has his own seat cushion on a chair in the current president's dining room, a custom that began in the late 1950s. A unique design and set of symbols in needlework represent the accomplishments of each administration. For more information on each chair, visit dartgo.org/seats.

Photographs by John Sherman

.



7122

...

-

1981

0

A 3: 1























ALL THE PRESIDENTS' SEATS

top row, from left: Eleazar Wheelock (served 1769-79) John Wheelock (1779-1815) Francis Brown (1815-20) Daniel Dana (1820-21) Bennet Tyler (1822-28)

middle row: Nathan Lord (1828-63) Asa Dodge Smith (1863-77) Samuel Colcord Bartlett (1877-92) William Jewett Tucker (1893-1909) Ernest Fox Nichols (1909-16) Ernest Martin Hopkins (1916-45)

bottom row: John Sloan Dickey (1945-70) John G. Kemeny (1970-81) David T. McLaughlin (1981-87) James O. Freedman (1987-98) James Wright (1998-2009)

Note: The seat cushion representing Jim Kim (2009-12) is not yet completed.